The Chainlink

Hello everyone, I'm new to the world of cargo bikes /long tails and I'm having trouble deciding between the EdgeRunner and the Yuba Mundo. I'm looking to haul a couple of toddlers around, run errands, pickup groceries. All that good stuff. Is there anyone on the forum with strong opinions on either of these bikes? I realize this may have been discussed before but I was wondering if any of the recent 2014 improvements has put one bike above the other.

Thanks for the help.

Views: 4482

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I don't know if it counts a strong opinion, but I like my Xtracycle. In fact, I just used it yesterday (that's not me, that's the guy that sold me the yellow Atala):

Besides the obvious use as a grocery getter, I've also hauled bags of mulch and other odds-n-ends. Mine is an add-on Free Radical which I added to the Specialized five to seven years ago. I'm sure that more modern dedicated utility bikes will be better than my setup. Still, I like mine just fine.

You could go to Green Machine Cycles and JC Lind Cycles and hear what they have to say. 

I recommend test riding both if you can.  I used to have a cargo bike with the Free Radical rear end (stolen), and test rode a Mundo at JC Lind.  The Mundo is a beast, but rides very smoothly and was of course more rigid than the Free Radical.  I suspect that the Edgerunner has a different feel to both with the smaller rear tire.

Also, consider the accessories. I prefer the Xtracycle bags over the Yuba bags, though I believe you can rig the Xtracycle bags to a Mundo.

My wife has a Mundo (from JC Lind) and has just started using it for two kids (with two seats on the back). She really likes it and we haven't had any real problems with it in 1.5 years.

Thanks, I'm leaning toward the EdgeRunner, at the moment.
Hi Chris,
Did you ever pull the trigger on an Edge Runner? Ive had my eye on the Mundo or Edge Runner as well lately.