The Chainlink

Just saw this on CL. Interesting. . .

http://www.bike-protected.com/Home.html

I'm no expert in the insurance realm, but it has crossed my mind what would transpire should I suffer an expensive accident on the bike. Is this a new concept?

Views: 404

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I have a nonowner car policy through my insurance company now that I have sold my car. It includes uninsured motorists too (if I get hit on my bike by a driver who has no insurance I'm covered) as well as if I get hit as a pedestrian. I know Lawyer Jim was doing some research on this. The same company also has my homeowners insurance and had car insurance with them for years.
This isn't directly related to your question, but I've heard rumors that if you ride a fixed gear bike with no brake, you crash and hurt yourself, and somehow the insurance company finds out you were riding a bike that has no brake, they have leverage to deny your claim.

Anyway, to respond to your question: I got doored several years back and made certain the cops came and filled out a report. I submitted the report to the driver's insurance company and they covered my medical bills (broken collar bone), damage to my bike...and they cut me a sizable check in exchange for signing some document promising not to sue the guy.

For the record, it was a total accident, the guy was super apologetic, and the thought of suing anyone never crossed my mind. I only wanted my medical bills covered. Buy hey...they offered so I took it.

What would happen in the case you crash into a tree or something non-vehicle-related? I would assume that your health coverage would cover you.